Baby Steps

12 Jul

It’s all about learning.  It’s all about trial and error.  It’s all about doing the best you can.

The first step for me was to learn more about my camera.  Yes it works in what I call PHD mode (push here dummy).  Olympus are much nicer and call it iAuto.  I found an informative video on youtube Ralphs Foto-Bude that opened up so many doors, it demystified some of the menu items and explained where to find some of the settings I knew where there but couldn’t find.  This meant that when I attended the Olympus workshop recently I had already played with some of the settings.

Next i’ve been learning to use Lightroom as I might have mentioned once or twice before.  My learning is based on included tutorials and a couple of very generous people with youtube channels.  One is Terry White and the other is Serge Ramelli.  I’m still at the baby step stage.  I’m sure a more experienced eye could look at my efforts and make all sorts of suggestions and recommendations.  For now, I’m proud of my efforts and I will continue with trying to marry the photo shot with what my eye and brain saw, who knows, one day I might be lucky enough to have the camera, my eye and my brain all see the same thing :).  Until then, here is my latest effort with the new dehaze effect in Lightroom.

Before

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While after is not yet perfect, looking at it now I would like to lighten the shadow on the foreground car, that falls into the next lesson I suppose.

Leave a Reply

